Epic Unsettlement

I find myself puzzled, there seems to exist this great world out there, one that can be explored and enjoyed; a world full of puzzlement. But for the moment I feel as if I am on the outside looking inward, as if some epic story is taking place, and I am reading this literary work wishing and hoping that I one day could be included. Is it not a funny thing to desire, that of a hero, of an epic player in a epic meta-narrative story…this is where I find myself today, wondering if there must be something else out there? Difficulty resounds on all sides of my life as it seems, I ponder what I am to be, I read these great Theologians and Biblical Scholars and so hope to find myself suited in their place some day. Albeit, there are numerous others, speakers, and leaders of great churches and movements, and I once again wonder will that be me? The words of Parker Palmer resound clear in my heart, “Let your life speak,” but is my life to be so vague and poised with bewilderment? I also hear the words of “The Dream Giver” by Bruce Wilkinson calling out to me, take the feather and lead the life you’ve been called to. “Hinds feet in High Places,” also shouts aloud saying the journey is not an easy one, as if I am a character in John Bunyan’s Pilgrims Progress; however I know the other side is a glorious one. Whom am I to be? I imagine we all ask this question over and over again through life, but I don’t want to reach the end still asking this question. “All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us,” Gandalf speaking to Frodo in the “Fellowship of the Rings;” the journey is ahead but what road to choose? “But the gateway to life is very narrow and the road is difficult, and only a few ever find it” (Matthew 7.14). Here I am questioning everything, or the age old question, Who Will I Be When I Grow Up? “I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well (Psalm 139.14) So I come to a conclusion, not far from the journey I began, for in life we are given two road-maps: one leading to our success and glory, and the other to God’s success and glory, the second truly fitting our purpose for being made; as caretakers and image bearers displaying his glory, so he will be glorified. The meta-narrative does include me, and the epic story is taking place, but the name of the hero desires to be unknown, so the victory and adornment is given to the one True God YHWH!

About thechad3

A dude following God
This entry was posted in Augustine, AW Tozer, Bible, Church History, Ecclesiology, Jesus, Marva Dawn, Missional, NT Wright, Peter Rollins, Postmodernism, Richard Bauckman, Richard Foster, Scot McKnight, Theology, Thomas A Kempis and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

